Economic Development Authority

Directors and Staff

Bernard Mustafa

Mr. Mustafa is a 20-year resident of Loudoun County, and serves as senior vice president and general manager of XTIVIA. Previously, he was president of Copia Enterprises, and before that, he was the COO at Standard Technology. Mr. Mustafa was appointed by Governor McAuliffe to the Center for Innovative Technology’s board, and he’s active in a number of service organizations. Mr. Mustafa served in the U.S. Army and has a bachelor’s degree in accounting from the University of Baltimore and an MBA from Morgan State. He is a CPA, a certified management accountant, and a chartered global management accountant.

Chavon McFadden Headshot

Chauvon McFadden
Vice Chairman

Mr. McFadden is the Principal of Crimson Wealth Strategies. He began his career as a financial services professional with New York Life right out of college in 2002. He specializes in managing and protecting the assets, lifestyles, and legacies of business owners, industry leaders, and professional athletes. Mr. McFadden is also an active community leader. He is the Chairman of the Loudoun County CEO Cabinet. He also serves on the boards for the National Capital Area Council for the Boy Scouts of America, the Loudoun County Economic Development Advisory Commission, and the Loudoun County Rural Economic Development Council. Mr. McFadden has been recognized by the Washington Business Journal as one of the top 40 business leaders under 40 in the metropolitan area. He was also recognized by National Association of Insurance and Financial Advisors as one of the top four advisors under 40 in the nation. Mr. McFadden has a bachelor’s degree in marketing from the University of Alabama and lives in Leesburg with his wife Alicia and son Austin.

Headshot of Alice Frazier

Alice Frazier

Ms. Frazier has been a resident of Leesburg, Virginia for over 15 years. She is President and CEO of Potomac Bancshares, Inc. (OTC: PTBS) and BCT-Bank of Charles Town, also known as The Community’s Bank. Ms. Frazier has over 28 years of banking experience, including service with Cardinal Financial Corporation as Executive Vice President and COO, BB&T as SVP/Area Executive in Loudoun County, and Middleburg Financial Corporation as CFO and COO, which is where Frazier began her banking career. Prior to that, she worked four years in public accounting with national and regional firms. Ms. Frazier currently serves as Secretary of the Independent Community Bankers Association (ICBA) and is a member of the Executive Committee, Board of Directors, and Federal Delegate Board. She is also a past President of the Virginia Association of Community Banks. Active in the community, Ms. Frazier serves on the Board of Directors at WVU Berkeley Hospital Foundation, the Loudoun CEO Cabinet, is an Honorary Trustee of Loudoun Education Foundation, and is a member of Women Investing in Shepherd University. Ms. Frazier is a graduate of the Stonier Graduate School of Banking and Radford University.

Tony Howard

Mr. Howard is the president and CEO of the Loudoun County Chamber of Commerce, a 1,300 member business organization that is Northern Virginia’s largest chamber of commerce. Howard began his tenure at the Loudoun County Chamber of Commerce in 2006, after seven years at the Fairfax County Chamber of Commerce. Before joining the Fairfax Chamber, Mr. Howard served as the chief spokesman for Congressman Michael P. Forbes. A graduate of the State University of New York, Mr. Howard was an award-winning journalist working for newspapers in New York’s Hudson Valley and Long Island. A resident of Leesburg, Mr. Howard and his wife Alison have one son, Jake.

Chris Charron

Mr. Charron is a life-long resident of Northern Virginia. He grew up in Springfield, attended R.E. Lee High School, and has a bachelor’s degree in building construction from Virginia Tech. He is currently a co-owner of 868 Vineyards and Grandale Restaurant, located near Hillsboro. Previously, Mr. Charron was the owner of Sterling-based Charron Construction Consulting, Inc., where for 20 years, his firm managed the construction of major commercial, retail, institutional and governmental projects across the United States. Mr. Charron is a past chair of the Loudoun County Chamber of Commerce and is also a member of the Loudoun CEO Cabinet. Previously, Mr. Charron served as a trustee for the Westmoreland Davis Memorial Foundation (which operates Morven Park) and the Washington Architectural Foundation.  Mr. Charron is the Constuction Coordinator for Loudoun County Public Schools.

Casey Veatch

Mr. Veatch is a native of Northern Virginia, growing up in Reston. He has spent his entire career in the commercial real estate industry, working with the Irving Group and Trammel Crow Company before starting his own company, Veatch Commercial Real Estate. He has developed, owned and operated a car wash as well as invested in various companies. Mr. Veatch is a licensed broker in Virginia, Maryland and Washington, D.C., and is a graduate of the University of Virginia. He serves on the Loudoun County Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors and is a member of the Loudoun CEO Cabinet.

Headshot of Buddy Rizer

Buddy Rizer
Executive Director, Secretary

Mr. Rizer is the executive director for both the Loudoun Economic Development Authority and Department of Economic Development. In both roles, he encourages growth and developing relationships with the county’s business community in both the commercial and agricultural-based business sectors in Loudoun. He has been named one of the “50 Most Influential Virginians” by Virginia Business Magazine, one of North America’s “Top 50 Economic Developers,” and was honored as a “Tech Titan” multiple times by the Washington Business Journal. Rizer was the founding co-chair of the Northern Virginia Technology Council’s Data Center and Cloud Infrastructure Committee. He serves on the NVTC Board of Directors and is one of the Washington Dulles Foreign Trade Zone Board of Directors. he is a Certified Economic Development and is a graduate of the Local Government Management Graduate Certificate Program at Virginia Tech.

Courtney R. Sydnor

Ms. Sydnor is a Deputy County Attorney for Loudoun County. In addition to serving as counsel to the EDA, Ms. Sydnor leads the Community Development Section in the County Attorney’s Office (i.e., land use and development) and serves as counsel to the Planning Commission. Ms. Sydnor has also represented the County in real estate transactions, public finance transactions, and public-private partnerships, including the ground lease for the Loudoun United soccer stadium, Segra Field. Ms. Sydnor is a graduate of University of Richmond School of Law and University of Virginia, and she is a former law clerk to the late Honorable Leroy R. Hassell of the Supreme Court of Virginia.